Connect to SQL 2008 Express running on Windows Server 2003 through home network

I installed SQL 2008 R2 on Windows Server 2003 and try to connect through my home network, from my laptop running Windows 7 Pro, to SQL Express using SQL Server Management Studio on my laptop

In Server name select <Browse for more…> , and I see only Windows Server name.  Where is SQL instance?

Capture1 

On Windows Server 2003 I open SQL Server Configuration Manager

pic2

Open TCP/IP property window:

pic3

This is what I get after installing SQL Express, TCP use port 1229 (IPALL)

After working around this problem I add sql instance to windows server and specify port 1229 after comma

pic4 

And use SQL Server Authentication (you must setup Authentication on Express and open port through firewall) 

pic5

Finally I connected to my SQL Express

pic6

And now I have data on other side of wire Smile

Hope this help .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Connect to SQL 2008 Express running on Windows Server 2003 through home network

  1. What precisely honestly encouraged you to post “Connect to
    SQL 2008 Express running on Windows Server 2003 through home network | Andriy’s space”? I actuallycertainly liked it! Thank you ,Cathern

Leave a Reply

